World Championships 2015: Highlights

Hello everyone! I am still in the process of catching up with some parts of the Worlds 2015 competition so I’ll be writing my recap posts throughout the week. While you’re waiting, here are some of the highlights from the competition. I’ll probably be adding some more videos throughout the week so stay tuned!

Beautiful.

Qing Pang & Jian Tong may not have won the world title but in all honesty, that really does not matter at all. This performance was lovely and breathtaking.

Even though Yuko Kavaguti & Alexander Smirnov broke my heart in the LP, I have to admit that this skate was pretty good.

The sbs spins weren’t perfect but I enjoyed watching this all the same.

Not their best performance but this skate was a highlight for me because you can just see how this partnership has blossomed. Zhang, the veteran is completely calm but senses that his partner is nervous. He overcompensates for her a little bit at the beginning and supports her throughout the skate and they skate a solid program.

The triple axel was glorious. I was surprised to see that Elizaveta decided to go for it. I thought that she wasn’t going to in case she loses a world title over it but I’m so happy that a lady is bringing the triple axel back.

Still some of the best choreography this season.

Despite the rough landing on the opening 4T, the rest of this program went down smooth as butter as you would expect from Jeff Buttle’s intricate choreography and Yuzuru’s solid skating skills.

Not perfect but I absolutely adore the step sequences between the elements in this program. Smooth, intricate and really lovely.

Clean skate, which is refreshing, though not quite perfection. Still, a fun program to watch.

As mentioned above, I’ll likely be adding to this list as I catch-up with the segments I didn’t manage to watch live and I’ll be writing recap posts throughout the week. Stay tuned for that and my World Team Trophy Predictions!

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. burdens
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 22:51:28

    I wish Hanyu will keep his SP for next year, or goes cleanly in WTT. I NEED this program clean JUST one. It’s such a waste he has not been clean this season due to his terrible health.

    Reply

  2. burdens
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 04:34:14

    I have found a fancam of Hanyu’s SP at Shanghai. Too bad about the hand down but this is his best SP of this season. https://youtu.be/JWbU1O-UAk0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

