Who is the mystery figure skater?

Hello darling readers! I realize that by now, my GPF post is super super late and I apologize again. I’ve been working on a few things not related to this blog in my spare time and I admit that it’s been preventing me from posting too much. For now, I’ll offer this short post asking you for some sleuthing skills.

I was listening to some Japanese music recently and I came across this song and music video. Does anyone know who the skater is?

Edit: Thank you, my wonderful readers!!! The figure skater in the video is Chika Suguri, sister to Fumie Suguri. Chika looks as if she has some pretty decent technique but I guess she’s not prominent in the competition circles.

Let me know if you know!

~The Rinkside Cafe

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dinan5555
    Jan 19, 2015 @ 09:20:20

    Reply

  2. Noriko
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 06:24:53

    Hello. The skater in this promotion video is Chika Suguri. She is a younger sister of Fumie Suguri. btw, this is the ending song for Japanese animation “Naruto”.
    I wonder why you were listening to this, for your kid??

    Reply

  3. chasingpolaris
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 10:35:55

    It’s Chika Suguri, the younger sister of Fumie Suguri.

    Reply

  4. Noriko
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 10:50:02

    I picked up below info from Japanese language wiki.
    Chika Suguri retired in 2005 – 2006 season, now 31 years old, married in 2012. She is now a mother of 2 years old boy, but often appears on TV as commentator. It seems Chika also involves in teaching figure skating for children from 2007 by invitation of Yutaka Higuchi.

    The 9th was the best rank in Japan nationals in her carrer, which dates back to 2004. FYI, top ranking members of 2004 J. nationals were
    ladies 1st Miki Ando
    2nd Mao Asada
    3rd Fumie Suguri
    6th Yukari Nakano
    8th Mai Asada (Mao’s elder sister)
    9th Chika Suguri
    12th Akiko Suzuki
    men 1st Takeshi Honda
    2nd Kensuke Nakaniwa
    3rd Nobunari Oda
    4th Takahiko Kozuka
    6th Daisuke Takahashi

    It’s more than 10 years ago. What a fond memories. Super nostalgic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

