Mid-Season Favourites

I won’t bother typing a post for the roster for the GPF because there’s a wikipedia page for that. It has a pretty table and a more effective and succinct way of showing you all you need to know. Instead, I’ll write a post on my favourite programs of the season this far since the majority of skaters have shown us what vehicles they want to use to propel them to the top.

kavaguti smirnov sa 2014 lp

Men

Yuzuru has yet to perform this program clean in competition but I loved this program since I saw it in exhibition form so I will put this as my favourite SP of the season so far. I adore the use of spread eagles and just the slow and graceful pace of the choreography. Yuzuru and Jeff Buttle are just magic together.

I’m not a huge fan of when coaches try to get skaters to skate like others but I find this combination of Kazakh pride with Patrick Chan-esque intricate transitions compelling. Although memorable is a double-edged word (certain terrible things can be just as memorable and good things), I think that this program has the potential to be memorable in a pleasant sense.

Ladies

I like this program mostly since I do think that it does well to combine the natural personality of the skater with the music and the choreography, despite the mistakes. I do hope that Zijun skates this to its full potential and doesn’t give up midway through after a huge mistake. There are a lot of beautiful soft moments in this program that I think she can perform very well so I will wait until that time comes.

Without a doubt, my favourite long program of the season is Satoko Miyahara’s Miss Saigon LP. Just watch it.

Pairs

I like the mystery and introverted quality of this program and I think that this team has what it takes to do it justice. It may not be the most stunning thing ever but it’s definitely a lot more interesting than most of the programs out there.

The angst. The drama. The stomping. The throw quad salchow. This program is so epic. Tamara Moskvina is a genius.

Ice Dance

I’ve been less than impressed with a lot of the flamenco SDs this season and I’m not sure why. Most of them have been underwhelming or the costumes are too distracting or that nothing really shines through. Sara Hurtado & Adria Diaz have an SD that gives a good flamenco flavour without it being too cheesy, which is why it makes this list.

I try not to pick the same skater or team for my favourites list but this is hands down my favourite FD of the season so far. This dance can so easily get cheesy but somehow this love theme and the choreography works, flowing smoothly from one type of love to the next. I really love how this team pushes the boundaries every season with really creative programs.

What have been your favourite programs this season so far? Let me know in the comments!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. missdancingfool
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:33:07

    The video of the first pairs program was removed =/ Can you post another link to it?

    Reply

  2. missdancingfool
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43:54

    Also, I totally agree with you on Hanyu’s SP! That program is a thing of beauty. I am so happy for and proud of Jeff Buttle (and Hanyu of course). I’ve been a fan of Buttle’s since his bronze at Torino and I was sad that he retired so soon after and that he wasn’t more successful in competition, but I’m so happy to see him being successful as a choreographer! I especially love the short programs he created for Hanyu. You’re right, those two just work so well together.

    I also have been loving Papadakis and Cizeron and their programs this year. They’re a bit slow and don’t really generate a lot of speed on the ice, but they have some pretty amazing lines and they just match each other so well. It also kinda works for the programs they have. Idk, I’ve just been really liking them. If I’m not mistaken, they train at the same rink with Hurtado/Diaz. I also like Zhiganshin and Ilinykh toghether, as raw and new as they are. Their SD is fiery.

    I’m not usually interested in pairs, but I LOVE the new pairing of Dylan Moscovitch and Lubov Iliushechkina! They are really new, but from what I’ve seen so far they match together really nicely. She is so amazing and graceful and he is a great partner, really strong and always supporting her. I can’t wait to see more polished programs at Canadian Nationals. I am definitely super excited for what they’ll bring.

    Thanks for the favorites list! I’ll definitely check the rest of them out!

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Dec 10, 2014 @ 18:49:19

      I’m actually really excited to see Iliushchkina & Moscovitch – I was a huge fan of Iliushchkina & Maisuradze when they were still together though she was much better at projecting and performing than he.

      Reply

      • missdancingfool
        Dec 10, 2014 @ 22:35:47

        She gives me shades of Katia Gordeeva, in her lines, incredible gracefulness, and emotive abilities. They kind of have a similar style.
        I wish her and Dylan had been able to perform at one of the Grand Prix events just so we can see how they’d fair along with some of the other top teams, but I guess I should just be happy the Russian Federation released her at all and that she’s now free to skate with Dylan.
        I’m also impressed with him. He has definitely changed his style to suit hers, and I’m liking this new side of him. The vibe they give off in their programs is very mature and stylish.

    • Satori
      Dec 11, 2014 @ 07:03:39

      A fellow Buttle-Buddy! 🙂 I agree with both of you regarding him and Hanyu working together. Jeff is a smart and well-balanced choreographer (and was as a competitor too). He knows how to maximize points, without compromising the overall feel of the program. So this is a very fine collaboration.

      Reply

      • missdancingfool
        Jan 02, 2015 @ 04:39:03

        Yess!! Jeff Buttle is amazing! I am so happy to see him still active in the skating world choreographing and performing. He’s too talented to disappear. And I’m too selfish, I can’t get enough of his work lol.

Leave a Reply

