Florent Amodio is a hipster.

73facd82_o

He used vocal music before it became cool. Even though the choreography for the program was extremely… puzzling to say the least, what was even more puzzling was that he didn’t get penalized back in the day when lyrics weren’t allowed.

In case you were wondering why I brought this back (I’m hoping that you won’t hate me for subjecting you to this), this is just a fun reminder… music with lyrics will be allowed in men’s, ladies and pairs programs starting the upcoming season!

Does this make you excited?

Personally, I’m shuddering at the idea of the overuse of Michael Jackson and Phantom of the Opera… with lyrics. Just wait, we’ll have a lady skate to the most popular songs in Frozen soon. For some reason, that entire concept makes me cringe even though I like the movie.

Thoughts on this rule change? Tell me in the comments!

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Craig
    Oct 04, 2014 @ 14:37:40

    Excited? I’m interested to see what people will come up with. I haven’t been watching the recent skating competitions yet so I’m not sure how things have progressed so far, but I’m assuming most aren’t including lyrics. I’ve felt that they would likely be a distraction when over used.

    I did see Javier use the Marriage of Figaro and it was well done but that probably doesn’t count as a lyric.

    I remember thinking Amodio’s skate was interesting but definitely not a competitive program. If I recall, it was deemed that his music was part of the rhythm or something?

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Predictions: Skate Canada International 2014 | The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

