Elena Radionova EX

For some reason, I had an inclination to see how Elena Radionova was doing as the 2014/15 figure skating season approaches. A quick search on youtube came up with this video of a neat little exhibition number she did in Japan.

While the commentators are gushing about how cute she is, I’m actually more amazed at the edgework in the program. Compared to last season, her skating skills seem to have gelled and you can see a sort of steadiness in the blade as she does her crossovers and spread eagles. I’m not sure how her jumps will look once she competes – I’m sure it’s hard to do a triple jump in that puffy skirt here – but I’m excited to see how she’ll develop as the next season rolls around. She has star quality and a great talent of expression on the ice that you can’t teach.

What did you think of Elena’s program or skating? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

~The Rlnkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 05:01:02

    I actually discovered her through this skate and she’s quickly become one of my favorites! I love how odd she allows herself to be and how spunky she is. I think I’ll be rooting for her from now on.

    Reply

  2. dream2skate
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 23:04:48

    I love Elena’s skating! She’s so passionate when she skates and really skates to all of her music. They just posted Russia’s Open Skate on youtube.com with her new programs and it looks like her long is going to be to an old Kwan fave. Really lovely.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGOpXRw6mOs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

