Yuzuru’s New SP

I apologize for the lack of posts, it’s been a bit busy lately as my life has, yet again, changed (for the better). I thank my readers again for their patience and support and I hope that you will continue reading!

In any case, I was wandering Twitter today for pictures of World Pride 2014 (I took my own pictures but I wanted to see if I missed anything) and while I was wandering Twitter, I found a video of Yuzuru Hanyu’s new short program.

EDIT: Old video got taken down. New video found. The program is relatively clean. I hate the meandering emptiness when he sets up the quad though.

Yuzuru is skating to one of my favourite piano pieces, Chopin’s Ballade no. 1. (Mao did a wonderful exhibition to it years ago as well.) From a little googling and lurking on figure skating forums, it seems that the choreographer is Jeffrey Buttle. I really love watching Jeff’s choreography. It’s such a breath of fresh air. However, this time around, this program gave me a bout of nostalgia. It has a very 90s 6.0 feel with touches of Ilia Kulik here and there. Overall, Yuzuru seems to have made an interesting decision in that he’s trying to show versatility and maturity coming off his Olympic season. The program looks shaky overall right now but I sincerely hope that Yuzuru can pull it off. I have a feeling that this program can be something magical when it’s skated to perfection.

Anyways, it’s late and I really shouldn’t be awake at this time so I’ll post the link to GP assignments tomorrow. Stay tuned!

In the meantime, let me know what you think of Yuzuru’s new SP in the comments!

~The Rinkside Cafe

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fuchsia G
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 17:16:03

    I’m really happy with this choice of music as a) it is also one of my favourite piece of music ever and b) it reminds me of Yuzuru’s 2011-2012 short programme on Scriabin. I loved that programme and the way his movements flowed with the music that was going into crescendos (the footwork in the last part was simply gorgeous). Here it is the same kind of music and once again the footwork in the last part is great. His triple axel out of a spread eagle is gorgeous as ever and I think that with a bit of practice he should be able to have a solid quad toe and a nice combination (Johnny tweeted a few day ago about the fact that he had skated this programme clean). Anyway, I think Yuzuru can pretty much skate to anything as he has a natural elegance and flair for the music, but I have to admit that I’m going to miss Parisienne Walkways and its wonderful entry into the triple axel. Actually I’m a bit worried that here the quad toe comes into the second part of the programme rather than the triple axel, as his triple axel is pretty much a secure thing for him. But I also do love a man who likes risk ^^

    (By the way I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now but never posted a comment somehow, so here you go. Sorry for such a delay, especially since it is so rare to find blogs on figure skating these days ^^)

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Jul 07, 2014 @ 21:17:48

      Thanks so much for commenting! It’s rare that I get them and I do read every one I get. If you’re looking for other great figure skating blogs, I highly recommend Morozombie and The Skating Lesson. (I think you can easily find links from Google.)
      I think this new program is an interesting step for Yuzuru’s career. I think the men’s figure skating world has been so taken for Patrick Chan in the past few seasons, I think he wants to make his mark she he’s not just another Olympic Champion. My friend said he was hungry and I get the same feeling – I think he wants to go down in the history books like Plushenko and Yagudin.

      Reply

  2. Jessica
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 03:11:46

    I can’t really comment on technical things since I’m not very good with the technical, but I’ve watched it a couple times now and it’s really starting to grow on me. On a shallow note, I find that shirt horribly distracting, but his skating tends to always be beautiful to me. I liked the upbeat cockiness of PW but it’s nice to see him try different things. I agree that he’s trying to go down in the history books and I hope he makes it. He’s already achieved Yagudin’s GPF+OGM+WC combo, now hopefully he’ll manage Plushenko’s longevity. Well…maybe not THAT much longevity (Plushenko, please stop, think of your spine)

    Reply

  3. hamaguri
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 03:32:45

    I am a fan of your blog living in Japan. I am always impressed to your sharp and fair articles. My English is poor, but please forgive me.
    Yuzuru said in a recent interview, he had only one request to Jeff to want to use piano music in SP choreography, did not say anything else, and was provieded with this Ballade 1 program.
    I heard Jeff had praised Mao’s ballade 1 to see it in Japanese ice shows. He might have had some ideas for this music. However, unlike Mao’s ballade, the arrangement is dark without beautiful minor meloy, it makes this program more difficult in expression. Of course, it is difficult program in technic also. Anyway, I thank Jeff for this lovely program! I am looking forward to seeng this program in new season.

    I support you in the future!

    Reply

  4. Liam Nemo
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 01:50:15

    I like this program already. Since it is so much different from both Mao’s Chopin SP and PW. I like the bleakness of this program. I hope he can skate to full potential for another miracle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

