Sad Farewell: Brian Joubert

With the season over, I continue to bid sad farewells to some of the talented skaters who decided to retire after this season.

To me, Brian Joubert appeals to my girly side in that I don’t really find this skating or choreography appealing by itself (he had good jumps in his heyday) but his attractiveness does make the copious pelvic thrusts and smouldering looks in his programs somewhat acceptable in my books.

Brian Joubert

To me, Brian Joubert is something of a sentimental favourite. Even though I don’t like or understand the logic of the 6.0 judging system, Joubert back in his heyday reminds me of the skating men I admired back in my childhood: Yagudin, Plushenko and Browning. I’m not sure what it is about Joubert that brings back this nostalgia but it could be the focus on jumps and personality. Nowadays, many top skaters tend to take a self-effacing stance towards the media, which focuses on their hard-work and presents a generally “white-bread, down-to-earth good guy/girl” image. But not Joubert. Some of us interested in the skating world remember the Chan/Joubert spat that was overblown a few years ago and his programs for this past season, which were unapologetically easy in IJS standards but were full of his trademark crotch-grabbing sexiness. A nice farewell on his terms, I suppose.

No sex on ice here but it’s a quintessential “macho man” Joubert program. Enjoy!

What did you think of Brian Joubert and his skating or personality? I’d love to hear your opinions in the comments!

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chocktaw-salchow
    May 03, 2014 @ 01:02:10

    It’s funny because I have much of the same feeling about Brian Joubert in general. He was always my sentimental favorite, but his style of skating isn’t the general esthetic that I am usually drawn to on the ice. I remember watching the Die Another Day SP over and over again, especially the one from worlds, which I would not say best represents his work over all but it was my favorite. It is crazy to me that seven years have passed since then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

