Sad Farewell: Nathalie Pechalat & Fabian Bourzat

As each Olympic cycle ends, the exodus of skaters begins as many competitors announce their retirement from competitive figure skating. As a result, I decided to create this series of posts bidding teams and skaters farewell. Each post will feature what I think was the best program of their career and maybe a few anecdotes on them. In the comments below, I highly recommend fans to input a nice farewell message. (I’ll tweet the post to them if they there are any messages!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first memory of Nathalie & Fabian was back in 2009 when I started to get back into figure skating after watching Tessa & Scott’s “Umbrellas of Cherbourg” FD. My first impression of them weren’t that favourable: I stumbled upon their FD which started with the theme from “Life is Beautiful” which then became a circus. I was so confused. The same feelings came to me when I saw their Alice in Wonderland/Requiem for a Dream FD. It took me a while but I realized that these two were really creative and tried to push the envelope in their choreography. Their programs were unique and memorable, though I guess I’m not avant garde enough to appreciate all of them. I also met them briefly in 2009 and found that they were really nice to fans. I offered my pen to Nathalie for an autograph without realizing she was going into a room to see the media. When she came back out from the press conference, she came up to me and she and Fabian signed my little notebook.

As for my favourite program of theirs, I’d have to say that I really enjoyed their “Le Petit Prince et sa Rose” program. I think this program packaged the team well – it was unique and creative (no overused music here) with so many emotions as we went along with them on their interstellar journey.

Personally, I would’ve given them the Olympic bronze medal but alas, the Olympics were in Russia.

Nathalie and Fabian, we’re going to miss the creativity you brought to the competition.

~The Rinkside Cafe

 

Leave a Reply

