Lil’ Love for the Underdogs: Michael Christian Martinez

I had to wake up early to watch the men’s SP from start to finish and the annoying thing was, I usually don’t watch the first two flights at Worlds or the Olympics. I was only half-awake to see what Plushenko had to offer. Although I was tempted to go back to bed, I decided to sit through the first two flights since my computer was already on as was my kettle for tea. For me, the only two highlights of the first few groups was the drama of Plushenko’s withdrawal… and this skater: Michael Christian Martinez of the Philippines. Not a traditional figure skating nation and so I did not expect to see this.

(For now, I can only offer a sketchy filmed off the TV video off the youtube due to copyright limitations.)

I have to admit, I was impressed. This guy has potential – his rotations in the air are very fast, he has good lines and extension and his flexibility rivals that of some of the top ladies (his Biellmann is definitely better extended than some ladies in the field). Martinez needs to improve the flow coming out of his jumps and have a quad to be at the top echelons and I would honestly love to see this guy succeed. For some reason, the name Frank Carroll is floating in my head right now.

This guy also seems to have tons of fans. Many lower ranked skaters don’t have videos of their skates on youtube but there were tons of videos of his Olympic skate. Keep on supporting your skaters, Filipino fans!

What did you think of Michael Christian Martinez? Do you think he has what it takes to be at the top? Let me know in the comments!

~The Rinkside Cafe

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Future is Here! All Hail Yuzuru Hanyu – Olympic Champion! | The Rinkside Cafe
  2. anna
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 04:20:11

    Yup I hope he improves a lot and by 2018 I hope to see him in the top 10 or even the podium. 😀

    Reply

  3. KP
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 00:50:42

    See you in 4 years Michael, in South Korea! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

