On the Street: Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir (Again!)

Ok, seriously, with all the hype and overscoring that follows Patrick Chan, you’d think that you’d be seeing him everywhere. In fact, I’m surprised that he’s not the one getting his own TV show. In any case, I actually haven’t seen any ads, for Chan, on TV or on billboards at all this season, which I find infinitely strange. (As you may know, I’ve already done a “On the Street” post for Tessa and Scott – link here.)

However, I was getting a coffee before going to the symphony at Roy Thompson Hall in Toronto when I saw this ad on I think, Wellington Street.

Tessa and Scott RBC ad

An interesting coincidence is that I was going to watch a performance of the Bacchanale from Samson et Dalila (my favourite piece of classical music) that night – a piece used in Meryl Davis & Charlie White’s breakthrough program. Dun dun dun. Oh well, I love the bacchanale and I don’t really care who skates to it. That and there were other pieces of great music that night, including an orchestral version of Claire de Lune and Wagner’s overture to Rienzi. So much beautiful music…

Have you seen any ads for figure skaters in your country? Link me to a picture in the comments or via Twitter (@LanternBell) and I’ll feature it on a post! (I’ll give you credit, of course!)

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

