Throwback Thursday: Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir

I figured this post would be appropriate seeing that Tessa and Scott’s new show was premiering today on W. This is a clip from the show. It makes me kind of sad because I always liked the idea of the friendly rivalry between these two and Meryl & Charlie. Then again, maybe they took this clip out of context so I guess I’ll have to watch this when it comes out.

Anyways, on to business: Throwback Thursday!

This Throwback Thursday features Tessa & Scott’s Mahler program. For me, I think this was the moment that defined the Olympics for me. I’m wary of nationalism and could care less about my country winning medals and whatnot but Tessa & Scott brought me back to watching figure skating and I was cheering for them all the way.

I remember watching this program at its beginning stages where it was not as smooth and there was a lift at the end that incurred deductions for it being too long. There was also a time when the “Goose” lift ended with Tessa doing a half loop on Scott’s leg and landing on the ice. I was there at Skate Canada when they did this program and I could feel myself holding my breath as they danced this program. When they won the Olympics, I was in tears from the performance and joy.

This program is almost the epitome of Tessa & Scott in a program. I enjoy watching these two most when I’m a little disheartened and lonely because they make me feel better by reminding me that there is love and that it is a beautiful thing.

What did you think of Tessa & Scott’s Mahler program? Let me know in the comments!

~The Rinkside Cafe

P.S. Here is a link to the first episode of Tessa & Scott’s show. I suggest you watch it ASAP since it’ll probably be taken down soon.

Leave a Reply

