Things to Be Excited for in the New *Olympic* Season

tessa scott finnstep

So no, I’m not very happy about a lot of things going on in Russia right now but here are a few things I *am* looking forward to in the new figure skating season:

1. Despite the controversy over the Olympics in Sochi, I will say that I enjoy watching figure skating during the Olympic year because for once, people who aren’t usually into figure skating get into figure skating. I still cringe at their complete lack of knowledge of some of the rules as well as the blind nationalism that comes with the Olympics but at least I have more people to discuss the sport with!

2. Rivalries: Mao vs. Yuna, Tessa & Scott vs. Meryl & Charlie, the Japanese princes (Daisuke, Yuzuru, Oda and Takahiko)… another year, another set of new programs and more competitions to see who’s come out on top.

3. The Finnstep! I admit that I actually really liked the Finnstep when it first came out as a compulsory dance and now it’s going to be incorporated into the short dance with jazzy tunes! Love it! (Also, no more bloody Yankee Polkas! Hoorah!)

4. The growth. It’s always exciting to see how certain skaters mature. Most skaters will leave you deeply disappointed at their plateau while occasionally, one or two skaters will turn out to be a dazzling surprise. A few skaters I’ll be keeping my eye on this season: Kanako Murakami (after a year or two not being exciting), Zijun Li, Javier Fernandez, and Denis Ten.

5. The question: Can anyone beat the unbeatables? Aka can anyone topple Yuna Kim and Patrick Chan? Whoever beats Yuna will have to be spot on while Yuna falters. Carolina Kostner may be able to topple Yuna with a great performance full of expression and good choreography and maybe we’ll find that Mao still has what it takes to take down her arch-rival. Whatever the result, it’s exciting to think about. As for Chan… well… let’s hope the judges are fair this season when more eyes are on the sport. Figure skating can’t afford to lose any more credibility than it already has (or lacks).

6. New programs: There’s always a hope at the beginning of the new year that the programs this season will be better than the last.

7. Yuzuru Hanyu’s Pooh Bear tissue box. It’s so cute, I had to include it on the list!

A few things I’m not excited for:

1. The team figure skating sport at the Olympics. I can tell you now, the top for countries will be Japan, Canada, U.S.A and Russia in any order. The other countries don’t stand a chance.

2. How Canada will hype up Patrick Chan, who, as those of you who follow me will know, I’m not really a big fan of. And since I live in Canada, I will have the CBC commentators orgasming on how good he is even if he puts out a mediocre performance. (*cough* Worlds 2010 *cough*) Yes, even you, Kurt Browning, who I love and respect, was guilty of that last Olympic season.

3. The Russia government’s stance on homosexuality. I hope that all the athletes will be safe. And honestly,..

What are you looking forward to this season?

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Q
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 08:56:11

    I am quite worried about the athletes in Russia…

    Reply

  2. dream2skate
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 21:46:21

    I am looking forward to Ashley Wagner finally rising to the occasion!
    I think if she can consistently land her triple triple then she will definitely be a force to be reckoned with. Her artistry has grown so much!
    I would love love love to see Alissa C. come out fighting but I’m not sure if she can compete on the jump level. Yes, Yuna, Mao (if she is consistent) and Carolina are the one’s to beat right now with Ashley right behind them. (I’m focused on ladies skating, as you can see!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

