Fantasy Programs for Sochi 2014

In 2010, I wrote a post featuring a list of fantasy programs for certain skaters. That was post was written at the beginning of this Olympic cycle and it seems as if this cycle is about to end. Skaters have matured, blossomed or waned and I think it’s about time we have a new list. So without further ado, here are some programs I’d like to see…

figure skates

Yuzuru Hanyu + Assassin’s Tango

For some reason, even though I think that tangos are overdone, I think Yuzuru should skate to one. I thought of Jalousie at first but settled for the Assassin’s Tango. There’s a darkness and elegance that Yuzuru can pull off, plus this piece is a little more mature than his usual music choices, which will challenge him to grow and mature as a skater.

Akiko Suzuki + Rent

This girl is versatile but she truly shines when she’s skating something fun and you can see the pure joy and love of skating on her face. Rent isn’t exactly the happiest of musicals but it has a lot of fun tunes, which I think can suit Akiko.

Elizaveta Tuktamysheva + Bells of Moscow

Liza is having huge issues with puberty at the moment and her star in the figure skating world may wane if she can’t effectively deal with her new and growing body. Still, this girl has star quality in spades even if her technical issues hindered them and her self-confidence this season. I do like Mao but I didn’t feel as if this song was a good fit for her. In Liza’s case however, the drama and darkness is something she should pull off effortlessly.

Zijun Li + Coppelia

This season has made me a fan of Zijun Li. I really hope that puberty treats her well and that she manages to skate a clean short program along with a clean long in the future. There’s a freshness and vivacity that I adore, which is why I think that she’d be suited to the music of Coppelia. I decided to take the chance here as well to link to a video of a dancer that I really admire, Gaya Bommer Yemini, who was also featured in the ballet documentary, First Position.

Kaitlyn Weaver & Andrew Poje + Amelie

Kaitlyn and Andrew have a great flair for drama, angst and I guess you could say cheesiness, which I mean in a good way. It’s the kind of cheesiness that you see in Broadway or classics like “Miracle on 34th Street.” I also think that this quality allows them to perform to some old warhorses in a fresh and familiar way, sort of like how you watch a favourite movie from your childhood for the ten millionth time – you always find something new but there’s always that wonderful feeling of nostalgia that comes with it. Although Amelie is relatively new to the figure skating world, it’s on its way to becoming a warhorse. The score is wonderful but it also has some drama, angst and the right kind of elegance that can highlight this team’s strengths.

Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir + Falling Slowly (Once)

I completely fell in love with this song and thought that it’s softness and romance would do very well for an exhibition program for Tessa and Scott. There’s a tenderness in this song that matches very well with their relationship with each other.

That’s it for now. There might be a part II coming soon!

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Predictions: Cup of China 2013 | The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

