Highlights of Four Continents 2013

It’s the Lunar New Year and I don’t think it’s the time to dwell on the negatives even though there were huge negatives in this competition. In any case, here are a few highlights and we’ll think about the good things.

Mao Asada’s I’ve Got Rhythm

I’m so excited to see her triple axel back! She also did a triple-triple in the long program which was surprising. Mao is getting ready to face her biggest rival at Worlds.

Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir – The Waltz Goes On

I feel like I’m watching a fairy tale unfold here.

Kanako Murakami, Tango

I’m happy to see Kanako’s improved a ton. I hope she keeps this up.

Zijun Li

I saw glimpses of Yuna and Mao at their peak in her in this performance. I hope that puberty sits well with her because this girl has a lot of potential.

Han Yan

Despite the mistakes, this guy’s jumps are HUGE. I hope he improves fast. China may have a fleet of single skaters. I can smell the future nationalism already.

 

What were your favourite bits of the Four Continents competition?

Also, HAPPY YEAR OF THE SNAKE!

snake

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

