Lil Love for the Underdogs: Angela Maxwell

This post is a little unusual because the featured skater isn’t competing anymore. Angela’s also had some success in the junior ranks and in that sense, she isn’t really an underdog either. I guess Angela is sort of an underdog in that she would have had a tough time competing in the senior ranks but in any case, I wanted to do this post about her.

Angela Maxwell

I first stumbled onto Angela when youtube suggested this video to me:

I was new to skating and so I didn’t really know who Elene Gedevanishvili was (she was operating the camera). What I did notice was that Angela was clearly better than the guy and she had a flair and charisma to her skating that made it difficult to tear your eyes away. She had star quality in spades, like Elizaveta Tuktamysheva.

I have to admit, I quite like the fact that she was using anime soundtracks. Some of the music on these things are super compelling even if their plots are not. I’m kind of hoping someone will use the Ghost in the Shell soundtracks one day.

Inuyasha LP (2008-2009)

 

Vampire Knight (2009-2010)

 

She may not have all the technical elements down but she has great personality on the ice. I wish I could’ve seen her improve and grow some more.

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

