Forgiveness: My Love-Hate Relationship with Sasha Cohen

2002 US CHAMPIONSHIPS -  FIGURE SKATING

For all of you who have been following my blog, you know that my posts are laden with a certain amount of cynicism in some skaters’ abilities as well as the judging system. Just now, I was wandering around youtube when it suggested to me Sasha Cohen’s Espana Cani short program from her 2010 failed comeback.

For those of you who don’t remember, here it is:

 

From the beginning to the end, I couldn’t help but pick this performance apart: the possible flutz at the beginning, the tentative landings that lacked control or were a hair away from being two-footed, actually two-footing jumps… After watching this, I remember her long program that year and how she crashed and burned a la Sasha Cohen style. I didn’t quite expect very much from Sasha that year seeing she couldn’t possibly compete with Yuna Kim and her triple-triples and flips and lutzes with correct edges. That and Sasha could barely skate a clean long program to save her life. (To be fair though, Yuna rarely ever skates a clean LP.)

In any case, as all of these negative aspects of her skating started piling up, she went into her perfect layback spin in the program. And I forgave her for all of her mistakes. There aren’t very many skaters who I can feel my high expectations dissolve in the middle of their program. (I think the Kween might be the only other skater to have this honour though Michelle Kwan is as near perfection as can be, really.) I’m not sure if it’s because a proper layback is so rare these days or that no one does laybacks and spirals like Sasha does. They just take your breath away.

So to end, I’ll post these two videos that remind me why I adore Sasha Cohen and her skating, despite her many flaws.

Enjoy!

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. AdAstra Flexine
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 04:16:10

    Thank you! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one. The way she moves is magic; she ripped me up in the beginning of her Turin LP and crushed as I was I couldn’t help but love her beautiful performance after the fall and step out.

    She has actually inspired my pole fitness journey! http://flexines.blogspot.com/search/label/Sasha%20Cohen
    Feel free to comment and let me know what you think 🙂

    –adAstra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

