All hail Prince Yuzuru, the New Japanese National Champion

This Tweet from Johnny Weir gave me some surprising news today:

johnny weir tweet yuzuru

\

 

I think if Yuzuru can prove that he can consistently skate a free program that isn’t marred with mistakes and reduced speed in the second half, the JFSA is on their way to dumping Daisuke in favour of this youngin’ for an Olympic medal.

Daisuke Takahashi won the silver, as expected but Takahito Mura stole the bronze unexpectedly. Nobunari Oda and Takahiko Kozuka got 4th and 5th respectively.

I’ll try to get through some of the other competitors but my life is a bit of a mess right now. I’ll do my best.

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susie
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 21:35:16

    I don’t think it’d be fair to just dump Daisuke. I love Yuzuru and all (he’s my favorite skater) but I think they’re not going to stop supporting Dai just yet…

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Dec 22, 2012 @ 22:00:14

      I feel the whole politicking thing is very unfair (though perhaps a good source of entertainment in figure skating). If there was no politicking involved, I’d say we’d be able to see more Japanese single skaters on the podium ’cause a lot of #2 skaters are getting way lowballed by their PCS (*cough* Akiko *cough*).

      Unfortunately though, the JFSA will probably have to choose someone to support for Sochi (there seems to be unwritten rules on the need for a multi-national podium) and right now, Daisuke and Yuzuru are duking it out. Experience vs. youth. An exciting battle but the outcome will be heartbreaking for one. Though the heartbreak will be tougher to bear for Daisuke since it’s unlikely he’ll go to another Olympics.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

