Highlights and a few comments on the NHK Trophy 2012

Highlight: Yuzuru Hanyu beating his own world record in the short program. At the tender age of 17. Wow.

I adore this program. My favourite part? The footwork into the 3A. So difficult but he makes it look smooth as butter.

I think his gold here at NHK has set him up quite well for Sochi. He’s proven that he’s a tough competitor who can beat Daisuke and be the #1 Japanese man. Aka the one the JFSA will politick for next year. He just needs to keep up his consistency and work on his long program but this kid is on the right track to a bright future. If you’ve followed my blog for a while, you’ll notice that he’s the only skater I’ve pegged so far as the future of figure skating. I’ve been reluctant to do the same for some other bright talents (ie. the baby Russian divas, Adelina Sotnikova and Elizaveta Tuktamysheva) because none of them have talent that stood out like Yuzuru’s. I’m so excited for this young man’s future.

Highlight: Despite the change in coaches, Yuzuru still has his Winnie the Pooh tissue box. And Brian Orser carries it around. (This picture was from the Finlandia Trophy but Orser did carry Pooh bear around at the NHK Trophy.)

Also, anyone else noticed that Brian was more chummy with Yuzuru than Javier? Poor Javi, such talent but he has no powerful figure skating union to back him up.

Highlight: Akiko Suzuki skating a fabulous long program. So focused, so lovely. She gets better with age.

However, despite winning the long program, she totally got tanked by her PCS which made her lose the gold. I’m sorry, Mao, but I don’t think popping or doubling jumps and shaky landings constitute as good skating skills. Or at least skating skills rated as 8/10. That abnormally high bit of PCS on Mao’s score in the LP was what gave her the gold medal. Frankly, I’m very disappointed in you, judges. And the JFSA.

Highlight: Richard Dornbush. I’ve been told about this youngin’ though I haven’t had much time to follow up and watch his skating. But now that I have, I admit, despite the mistakes, he has great potential. I love the lines he makes with his arms and the smoothness in his skating. I hope this guy improves.

Highlight: Zijun Li has utterly boring programs and her PCS are a bit high seeing that she skates like a junior but this girl was refreshing to watch. She’s a natural jumping bean! She reminds me of a young Mao, though her aura is definitely a lot different. I’d love to see her with a different choreographer. She wasn’t that far behind Mirai Nagasu for bronze so I’d say that she has a little time to show everyone what’s she’s got and I’m excited.

What were your favourite moments of the NHK Trophy?

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ay-sa
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 20:28:20

    Mao didn’t fall, actually….

    But I too would’ve given the gold to Akiko.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

