Skate America Highlights and Comments – Day 3

Again, this will have to be quick and a bit random because I have so much on my plate right now.


So the ladies LP. There were some clean and decent skates involved but the choreography and the execution in some of them left a lot to be desired.

Ashley Wagner skated a clean LP. That’s good but it would’ve been better if this program had more in it. Is it just me or are there entire sections where there’s barely any content? And how is it that the choreographer takes some of the best bits of the Bacchanale in Samson and Dalila and NOT take advantage of it? The posing in this case I didn’t mind because they were some of the best moments of the program but seriously, how do you not take advantage of that fast and furious end with the crescendo with a super fast scratch spin? And I may sound mean but that’s because the Bacchanale in Samson et Dalila is one of my favourite pieces of classical music. Ever.

Christina Gao also skated cleanly but the entire program reeked of awkward teenager. Girl, you have lovely long limbs. Pretend you are trying to extend them for miles and miles. Also, one movement should flow into the next. The choppiness of some of your movements ruins the effect and flow of the less staccato parts of Libertango.

First of all, who the hell gave Adelina Sotnikova “your call is valuable to us, please stay on the line and the next available customer service representative will be pleased to help you” music punctuated by Christina Aguilera singing? I’m really not sure what’s worse, the please hold music or the schizophrenic no-lyrics version of “Burlesque” or the random, non-sensical combination of the two in a program. I think I’d need a few shots of vodka in order for this program to make any sort of sense for me.

On to ice dance…

Meryl and Charlie’s FD this year to Notre Dame de Paris is supposed to be about love and connection. I suppose there’s more that here than in any other program I’ve seen them do but I can’t quite love this program as I loved their 2008/9 OD and FD. Or their Bollywood program. Or their SD this year. I think Meryl and Charlie need a little more time to find that connection to be able to skate as if they’re the only ones there in their own little world. I’m happy they’re trying to address their weaknesses and branch out, which is something I’ve always wanted to see from their Canadian rivals.

Ekaterina Bobrova and Dmitri Sloviev are skating a lot smoother than before and Katia seems to have discovered how to use her limbs properly. As for this program, they beat Weave/Poje because they were able to skate it better than they did but I feel as if this program is too “French” for me. I’m not quite sure what’s going on between Dmitri’s roboticness at the beginning and then Katia flopping about at the end. That lift at the end where he’s holding onto her neck? That was not beautiful but just plain scary. I thought ice dance was supposed to look pretty no matter when you take a photo of the skaters. That, my dears, is not pretty at all. Just plain terrifying and creepy. Also, it is just me or does it feel as if Katia might be a little too tall for her partner?

Kaitlyn and Andrew didn’t skate as well as they wanted to and so some of their elements were downgraded which is how they fell in the standings and lost the silver. The good news is, they’ve found a pretty decent vehicle to carry them through this season. I didn’t think they would be able to follow up with something as good as “Je Suis Malade” but I admit this FD is creative, artistic and quite pleasant to watch. I look forward to seeing it again.

Anyways, I’m off! What did you think of the ladies’ and ice dance competitions?

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

