Highlights of Skate America – Day 1 & 2

I really don’t have much time to do a writeup of the competition but I’ll lay down some preliminary comments and put out a few highlights. I managed to watch the entire men’s LP but I was out when the pairs, ice dance and ladies’ competitions happened. (Fun day trip full of shopping a good food!) Unfortunately, not all the videos are up but I’ll post more highlights when they pop up on youtube.

In any case, some comments:

  • Very happy for the 3 for 3 pairs predictions. What I’m not so happy about is the fact that Volosozhar & Trankov’s programs this year are… underwhelming to put it kindly. Oh well, at least they landed what I think was a quad throw loop.
  • Yuzuru Hanyu broke a world record in the SP! I just wish he could’ve done well enough in the LP to win it.
  • So, every time PJ Kwong from CBC and I have the same gold medal predictions, something really weird happens to screw up our predictions completely. Although the competition isn’t over yet, I think that weird thing has already happened. Yuzuru’s messy LP screwed up our gold medal predictions for him while the totally unexpected event? A Japanese men’s sweep of the podium. I think we were both expecting to see Jeremy Abbott in the mix (though his Twitter indicates that he has a bit of a spine injury right now and while he was skating the LP) and we definitely didn’t expect to Tatsuki Machida to do pretty decently.
  • Also, Yuzuru still has his Winnie the Pooh tissue box! *pinches cheeks*
  • Speaking of Tatsuki Machida, please someone tell me that I wasn’t the only one who laughed 5 minutes straight after that “wing flapping” bit of his program at the end of his LP. I couldn’t stop giggling for the longest time. That was hysterical.
  • Meryl and Charlie’s SD was lovely. I love the music from Giselle and the light and airy choreography that they’re wonderful at. They’ve improved their unison and I’m so impressed. I also love the fact that there are so many random music cuts.
  • Adelina Sotnikova – pity she singled her second jump but she’s a lot more watchable this season. I got a bit bored watching her midway through her programs last season and she’s finally gained some – note, some – of Liza’s *star quality*. Also, darling girl, you’re supposed to be intense with your arms during your step sequence but your arms are not planks of wood, so stop moving them like they are.
  • Ashely Wagner’s SP isn’t that bad but I’m impressed by her steadfastness on the ice. She kind of reminds me of Joannie Rochette. I’m not sure how I feel about that.
  • Help needed: to locate the following programs, Weaver/Poje’s SD, Ilinykh/Katsalapov’s SD

A few video highlights:

Perfection here:

 

A non-tacky polka SD. So light, so floaty~

 

Ashley Wagner’s SP:

 

What did you think of Day 1 & 2 of the Skater America competition?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Harriett
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 04:56:10

    What was wrong with Jeremy Abbott in the long program at Skate America? Does he have an injury? Also, did anyone like his long program? I normally love his programs but this was boring to me. Is he hampered in someway?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

