Mother Russia is gearing up for the Winter Olympics: Sochi 2014

I admit, I didn’t have much confidence in Russia in their planning and preparation for the 2014 Olympics. Sochi is, after all, a summer resort city for Russians and slightly after the city was chosen for the Olympics in July of 2007, conflict broke out in South Ossetia and Abkhasia which are not very far from Sochi. On another note, I was beginning to question whether the Russian organizers were having a tad too much vodka when they released a shortlist of possible mascots (which can be seen in this earlier Rinkside Cafe blog post) for the public to vote for their favourites. (Though with the last presidential results… well, I’ll link you to this.)

In any case, the organizers have released a few photos on their facebook page. Though some other ridiculous situation may arise that may lead me to completely regret writing this but I do admit, I’m slightly impressed by some of these new buildings. They have a very sleek look to them that is very cool.

The Bolshoy Ice Dome

 

I would not mind a giant polar bear stuffed animal. So cute! (Thank goodness they didn’t use that skiing… dolphin…)

The Adler Arena

The Iceberg Skating Palace – I’m guessing this is where all the figure skating events will happen.

The planners didn’t label their buildings so I have to use educated guesses and google to see which buildings were which. Let me know if I got something wrong.

What do you think about some of the venues for Sochi 2014?

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Mother Russia is gearing up for the Winter Olympics: Sochi 2014 … | The Ice Berg Skating
  2. Trackback: Mother Russia is gearing up for the Winter … – The Ice Berg Skating | The Ice Berg Skating

Leave a Reply

