Finlandia Trophy 2012: Men’s SP (+Johnny Weir’s Comeback Debut)

So the senior figure skating season is on it’s way with B-list events such as the Nebelhorn Trophy and the Finlandia Trophy. The Finlandia Trophy came with the bad news of Scott Moir’s injury which delayed fans from seeing Tessa and Scott’s new programs but they will need all their strength to beat Meryl and Charlie this season. Or not, seeing that Worlds is in their hometown this year.

In any case, with the Finlandia Trophy also came with a good lineup in the men’s competition, which also included Johnny Weir’s comeback debut. I don’t have much time but I will discuss the top 4. Anyone who wants to talk about the entire competition can post a link in the comments and I’ll add them in for the readers.

 

Javier Fernandez started his season well (whether or not he can keep it up is a totally different story) with a clean skate to Flamenco music. As much as I do admire Javier, I found my attention wavering. Maybe the program itself wasn’t all that exciting or he needs to sell it more but in the end, he’s first after the short program and that is awesome.

 

Yuzuru Hanyu came 2nd after the short program which had a few mistakes, including a possibly underrotated 4T and a tacked on 2T at the end of his 3F. (I’m assuming he was aiming for 3F-3T.) Other than that, I must say, wow. Am I watching Yuzuru or Daisuke before he busted his knee? I’m not a huge fan of programs set to rock and roll music but this program was sexy, smooth and interesting to watch. I love the flow in his movements and he’s skating with such an attack and speed I didn’t see last season. Despite the bobbles, I think this is a pretty good start to the season.

 

Richard Dornbush, who came in 3rd, was a pleasant surprise. I’m kind of not that enthused about the American men but I do admit that this guy has great lines. His jump content might be lacking a bit but I believe he does have a little more time to get things right. One critique I do have is that he needs to feel his music a little more. I didn’t quite feel the epicness of the music in his movement but I feel as if that’s something that will come over the course of the season.

 

Johnny’s comeback didn’t quite go as planned. I think he underrotated and two-footed his 4T at the beginning and gosh was he skating slow. After watching Yuzuru’s program, Johnny’s program to instrumental Lady Gaga was devoid of well… content. Barely any transitions, a lot of long pauses and a lot of front-loading with the jumps. The music itself was already a bit cringe-worthy but the program made it even more so. I smell Nikolai Morozov here… someone confirm these suspicions?

 

Leave a Reply

