Agony and Angst… mostly the former

So I decided to take a look at Volosozhar & Trankov’s LP test skate that was uploaded recently and didn’t quite know what to expect. Well… maybe I did some crazy Morozov stuff but I didn’t expect to burst out laughing.

At the moment, it seems as if the pairs team pegged for Olympic gold are getting angsty and well… really angsty as shown by Max’s bleeding bandage on his head. Unless he was actually injured or something but then he should probably not be skating with a gash on his head like that… However, not only was this program angsty but it was total agony. The music felt really repetitive and two minutes in, I was wondering when it would end. (The ugly lift positions didn’t really help either.) Max and Tatiana need to smooth out a few bumps in their skating – there are quite a few glaring errors here but I don’t doubt their ability to improve throughout the season. That and… wtf… what was that random display of grief at the end. That little angsty bit was admitted the worst but the funniest moment of the entire program which made it worth watching this program to the end. That being said, I don’t think I really want to watch this program ever again. It’s not as bad as Florent’s brain damaging tiger LP but I think I may cry if this is the LP that gives these two the World Championship title.

 

And I guess this is how Russia will reclaim its gold medal in pairs skating next season. With angst and a lot of home cooking.

Thoughts? Anything pleasant you want to share? Because I think I’ve been feeling pretty downtrodden whilst writing my most recent posts.

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

