Oh FML…

Just when I wrote about why I’m excited about this season, I now have a reason to dread this season. Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir, the team who had gotten me back into the world of figure skating fandom is skating to… Carmen.. FOR THEIR FREE DANCE. BLOODY HELL, CARMEN???? SERIOUSLY???? This is a headdesk moment.

Many skating viewers have noted that V/M have taken a very “white bread” route and at this point, I really couldn’t agree more. Not only is Carmen an old warhorse, it’s also basically their flamenco/Latin routines redone. I’m really sad to say that I’m starting to lose faith in this couple. They’re supposed to be innovators, creative and on a level that’s beyond all the other skaters. They’re supposed to push and challenge themselves to overcome their weaknesses and they’ve done the complete opposite. You guys are better than the dime for dozen skaters who can take the easy route and skate to a warhorse. I’m disappointed in you two because I know you guys can do better. Wayyy better.

This blog post by Morozombie provides an interesting music suggestion.

What do you think about this music choice?

~The Rinkside Cafe

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MB
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 14:17:41

    I know Carmen is overused, but I think people should wait until after the program has debuted before judging it. They say it’s a modern take on Carmen, and they’re working with a modern dance/ballet choreographer, Jennifer Swan, who also worked on Pink Floyd. Admittedly, I was initially very disappointed in the music choice, but given what we know at this point, I think this may still be a really good program, especially if it’s more modern dance. Innovation is not defined by music choice alone, after all.

    There was a little article with 8 still photos made of the routine at HPC. The lifts, at least, are jaw-dropping, and there’s a fairly neat spin position as well.

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 08:12:41

    Hi! I agree with MB. We havn’t seen the programme yet and they might suprise us with its cheography. If they do a modern Carmen, it could be innovative even through the music is overused. Besides, Carmen is more than the three pieces everyones uses. I hope they choose the less known parts.
    Here is the article, HB was referring to: http://www.mississauga.com/sports/article/1498909–world-class-skaters-go-to-hershey-camp!
    To the music suggestion: I really like the story of Tristan and Isolde and Wagner understood to transfer the emotions and theme into the music. It would show Tessa and Scott’s emotional growth perfectly.

    Have a nice day!

    Reply

  3. Abby
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 01:31:51

    Aren’t the Italian couple who’s now coached by M/V’s ex-coach doing Carmen too? Oooh! I think I can smell something…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

