10 Reasons Why I’m Excited for the New Season

I believe the junior GP series has already begun and the senior GPs will start next month at Skate America. And I’m about 2 hours away by airplane. So tempted. But too poor.

For my fellow readers and friends, some of you may have guessed that I’ve moved. Yet again. I’ll probably be even busier than I was last year but I will do my best to blog or at least follow each competition. My endeavours this year will be more intensive and time-consuming than they were last year but it’ll be one heck of an interesting ride. Let’s hope the figure skating season will be just as interesting.

In any case, here are the reasons why I’m excited for the 2012/2013 season.

1. NEW PROGRAMS. Other than Yuzuru Hanyu’s LP, Takahashi & Tran’s “Imagine” SP and “Je Suis Malade” from Weaver & Poje, I wasn’t really fond of the entire slew of programs last year.

2. The progress of some of the up and coming teenagers. I’m especially excited to see the rivalry between Liza and Adelina again as well as Yuzuru Hanyu’s progress under Brian Orser.

3. COMEBACKS. Yuna Kim, Johnny Weir, Windmill guy Evan Lysacek. ‘Nuff said. Though I’d rather Lysacek not come back.

4. The result of the Team Canton drama. Will Chock & Bates fly up the rankings and knock the Shibutanis down a peg? I doubt that this new team will be able to beat Meryl & Charlie but defeating the Shibs may be possible if they improve leaps and bounds technically.

5. Seeing how Mother Russia will fare the year before the Olympics. Keep an eye out for Ilinykh & Katsalapov. Rumour has it Elena is Nikolai Morozov’s new girlfriend now that he and Miki Ando are through. The Russian pair of Tatiana Volosozhar & Maxim Trankov should also see some results.

6. The new crazy costumes – I mean, if Johnny is back, we’ll probably see more crazy stuff. And Lysacek might be with Vera Wang and she tends to be very um… creative with Evan’s costumes.

7. The batshit crazy programs by Nikolai Morozov – I suppose it’s a guilty pleasure like that new viral Gangnam Style video. They’re all like train wrecks. You know something bad is going to happen but you can’t tear your eyes away. That and we’ve been so deprived of figure skating for so long that you miss it all.

8. Being able to fine-tune my predictions for Sochi. This is the season to establish a springboard for medal contention at Sochi. There are some skaters who don’t really need this springboard but a lot of the youngins (especially the young Russian divas) need to put everything out there this season so I’ll be expecting a lot.

9. Rivalry drama – V/M vs. D/W, Kim vs. Asada, Liza vs. Adelina, S/S vs. V/T. Need I say more?

10. More proof that ice is slippery and that anything can happen.

What are you most excited for?

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

