Worlds 2012 – Ice Dance FD

I’m not sure if I can deal with the clusterfuck that is the ladies’ SP right now so I’ll leave you to read the delightful post by Morozombie, who is my new favourite figure skating blogger who seriously sounds like my darling friend and reader, Ay-sa.

As for dance, the results were a little more palatable though the results for bronze are seriously pissing me off. Let’s go through the final top 5, shall we?

So the overall winners and winners of the FD were Tessa Virtue & Scott Moir. This win was less guaranteed than it would have been had this competition been held 2 years ago since Meryl & Charlie have beaten them consistently at the beginning of the season. In any case, they didn’t skate with as much verve and attack here as I’ve seen them done in the past. There was a small stumble from Scott and the first set of twizzles were not as perfect as they should be. Tessa mentioned in a post-skate interview that she did not feel that it was their best performance but it was enough to win the FD over Davis & White by 2 points.

Meryl Davis & Charlie White failed to defend their title but got silver, which really isn’t all that bad. Their “Die Fledermaus” program has gone a long way since the beginning of the season though I still think they lack that extra shot of grandeur to pull the routine off. As much as this program really shows off their athleticism and their speed on the ice, it also demonstrates their deficiency in expressing a certain mood, which I feel this program is more about rather than a story. The fake plastic smiles they plastered on made the program seem a bit cheesy and awkward and I found myself longing for that flirty, fun feel from their “Happy Feet” OD from 2009. I don’t know if Meryl & Charlie are trying to tackle their weaknesses but I’m looking forward to a new program for next year already.


Disappointingly enough, it was Nathalie Pechalat & Fabian Bourzat who took the bronze. I guess with their lead from the SD, it was expected but I call bullshit on their PCS, which put them in 3rd in the FD over Kaitlyn and Andrew. I’m not sure how this cliched Pharaoh program can compare to the passion that is “Je Suis Malade,” not to mention they made a few minor mistakes, like that shaky upside down lift and the final lift looked really sloppy. Technically, Kaitlyn and Andrew beat them in the TES score by a tiny fraction and it was P&B’s PCS that held them up over the Canadians. What I don’t understand is how a kitschy program can score higher in PE, CC and IT. I chalk it up to home-ice advantage and call their PCS bullshit, though I suppose Patrick Chan has gotten away with worse. This is simply my opinion, so disagree with me if you want to.

Kaitlyn Weaver & Andrew Poje, in my opinion, had the performance of the night. It was one of the few performances I was able to watch live and I must say, it took my breath away. They skated the program with as much passion as when they skated it for the first time. I think this is their best performance to date and I’m going to be very sad to see it go. I really don’t think there’s much to say other than that. I know it would’ve been difficult for them to win bronze but I think they should’ve been 3rd in the FD.

Elena Ilinykh & Nikita Katsalapov finish off the top 5 this year. I’m very impressed with their speed and edges but this program is almost bordering the Eurotrash of the 90s. Someone needs to give these two choreography that fits them because despite their attempts at emoting, it felt as if they were overacting and trying too hard throughout the program – not what you want in ice dance. These two have potential and let’s hope that Morozov doesn’t waste it. Let’s just hope that miracles do happen for their sakes.

As for the rest… Alex Shibutani stumbled out of a twizzle and Maia didn’t do the 3rd set of twizzles and they got dropped even lower and the #3 American team into 11th place. However, the U.S.A, Canada and Russia will all have 3 spots at Worlds next year. Bobrova & Sloviev moved up but the thought of subjecting myself to 4 minutes of sloppy skating and bad posture is unappealing so I’ll let you tell me about the details of that skate.

For the detailed breakdown and scores, please click here.

For all the rankings for the dance competition, click here.

What did you think of the ice dance competition in Nice?

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ay-sa
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 01:01:21

    Hahaha, you flatter me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

