Piper Gilles & Paul Poirier: Not sure what to think…

I seem to be beginning a lot of my posts with apologies and I do mean them most sincerely. My life has been a bit of a mess and I’m still in the middle of trying to sort it out. Thank you to the readers who still read the random stuff I write but I will do my best to keep up amidst the huge mess that is my life right now. I have a few posts that are still drafts (I tend to start posts and I need to revise them after sleeping on them sometimes) but they will be published.

In any case, I wanted to write this post on this brainwave before it disappears into a sea of muddleness that is my brain.

So. Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier made their debut as a couple this season and the result was this:

They just won bronze at Canadian Nationals and yet I’m not sure what to think. For one, I do think that this pairing is better than Crone/Poirier because Vanessa and Paul had no chemistry. You might as well have two dummies dancing on ice together. Actually, the dummies might have had more personality and spark than those two. So I guess there’s that positive for the new couple – they couldn’t get any worse than Paul’s former partnership.

Now for the negatives; it’s clear that these two need more time to gel and Piper needs to be a lot more confident on the ice. Right now, they have the aura of junior skaters: energetic, positive but really sloppy at parts. As for their FD… I’m glad that it’s a lot more exciting than any of Crone/Poirier’s programs but why do I get the feeling that either a) the music is too cool and edgy for them and highlights their immaturity for being out of their comfort zone (Paul has skated to more lyrical pieces in the past while Piper has a very cutesy image – and it’s not just her face but her costume) or b) they’re not French enough to pull something off that’s as weird as this.

Still, they do have a lot of interesting elements. I love how they entered into their twizzles and that first straight line lift was refreshing and interesting – lots of transitions without being too cluttery.

So in the end, I think this team – as well as my opinion of them – needs a little time to develop. Time will tell, I guess.

What do you think of Gilles/Poirier?

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Q
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 11:44:16

    umm, weird…they look like dolls but skating to Sweet Dreams? But I concur…the twizzles were tres cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

