Just when things were looking up: Kavaguti/Smirnov out of Euros

Admittedly, I’ve never been a huge fan of Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smirnov. Mostly because Yuko looked like a creepy ball-jointed voodoo doll whenever she skated and her facial expressions were limited to bitch and the creepy psychopath look. Sure, I admired her perseverance and Tamara Moskovina did give them lovely choreography – like their “Clair de Lune” LP – but it was really hard to appreciate Alexander flinging Yuko around like a rag doll  their skating most of the time.

This year, however, I saw a marked change in this team. Yuko softened up her facial expression and possibly her knees and their “Clair de Lune” LP looks like a brand spanking new program. Their improvement was marked enough that they earned gold at NHK over World Champions, Aliona Savchenko & Robin Szolkowy who were still working on their LP. Although there was little chance that they would be able to beat Tatiana Volosozhar & Maxim Trankov in any competition, they did win their first GPF medal and it looked as if things were looking up for this team but alas, it was not meant to be. It seems as if these two are withdrawing from Euros so that Alexander can recover from his appendix surgery. Will I ever see the most perfect skate of “Clair de Lune”?

 

Who will take third spot at Euros now that these two are gone?

~The Rinkside Cafe

P.S. I apologize for the lack of posts. My life is a bit of a mess right now and I need to get a lot of things sorted out. Thank you for reading though. It makes me happy to know that people are actually reading the random stuff I write.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Q
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 19:12:53

    I totally dig your blog (as a quite snarky and sarcastic figure skater, myself)…and as for this pair, I have never thought anything I’ve seen from them was lovely. Yet this routine was lovely. I’m glad to see the improvements she’s made. Cuz you’re right…she was just creepy.

    Reply

  2. unidebt
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 12:47:47

    Hahaha,
    What a description, although I don’t think they are so bad. I can see what you mean. I saw them once and you can tell when couples have a chemistry and when they don’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

