A Call to Arms!

First of all, it took me forever to re-find this video:

I had to sift through a ton of videos in order to find a video of Mao and Takahiko practicing their ice dance/pair program to music from Lupin the 3rd with that twizzle sequence. Seriously, I’m super impressed with Mao’s footwork. (She’s one of the few ladies with footwork sequences that are intricate and NOT boring to watch.) If she can’t jump anymore, I hope she finds a good partner and takes up ice dancing. She could be pretty darn good at it.

I’ve been searching for the finished product for a little while and can’t seem to find it. Does anyone know if such a video exists? If so, a link would be greatly appreciated.

Also, the new figure skating season is approaching. I’ll probably be posting something on the highlights of the 2010/2011 season and some exciting things to look forward to in the 2011/2012 season.

~The Rinkside Cafe

Edit: Many thanks to Rino, who found it!

Jeff Buttle continues to be fabulous and it’s lovely to see Mirai be her charismatic self. I sense some sort of improvement from her but I have yet to pinpoint how she’s improved in the past few months. As for Mao, I still think she should take up ice dancing when her singles days are over. Footwork and twizzles are no joke.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rino
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 11:55:52

    Hi!
    Their pair program is a part of this Finale. (5:10~)

    This video was shot on the first day of THE ICE.
    Their performance got better day by day.
    On the last day of THE ICE, Lupin(Taka) kissed Mao finally and surprised us(because Taka is shy)!
    After Finale, Mirai & Adam showed the first half of the program of Meryl & Charlie! There were some surprise.:)
    Soon, “full version”(maybe including the last day parformance?) will broadcast on TV, and I heard that videos will be added on YouTube.

    Reply

  2. rinksidecafe
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 11:47:43

    Thank you so much! Did you get to watch the show live, by the way?

    Reply

  3. Rino
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 12:43:49

    It’s my pleasure!

    Yes, I went to see the last day’s show.
    I liked opening of this show especially.
    Compared with other ice shows, I felt, THE ICE is not sophisticated but has the flavor of handwork and warmth.
    (I’m sorry…I have a limited vocabulary…)

    I want to go to watch competitions…!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

