Nostalgia for 2008 Worlds (Ice Dance)

I’m in a bit of a funny mood today and for some reason, I found myself missing these three ice dance gems from 2008: the FDs from the medalists from 2008 Worlds. Tanith and Ben found themselves off the podium that year because Tanith faceplanted in the middle of their CD and could not recover from that mistake. (They were 0.26 from the bronze.) Their FD wasn’t all that bad. Anyways, without further ado…

(Not all of the performances are from Worlds but that doesn’t really matter.)

I miss Isabelle Delobel and Olivier Schoenfelder and their wonderful creativity. This was such a lovely FD with the sign language and all. As a huge fan of Tessa and Scott, I hate to admit that they deserved to be placed behind a certain team. For that particular competition, it was not their time yet and if they were to lose to a team in the 2007/2008 season, it would be these two.

The Umbrellas of Cherbourg will remain one of my favourite programs of all time. Here, Tessa and Scott gave their best performance for this program. The ethereal spell they cast, that unchoreographed sort-of kiss… sheer perfection and just pure love.

I though Jana Khokhlova and Sergei Novitski were more in tune with the music at Worlds even though they stumbled on the step sequence. The Euros performance just wasn’t as vivid as this one but you may be free to disagree. I hope that one day, Fedor will be strong enough as an ice dancer to be able to capitalize on Jana’s awesome flexibility.

Oh yes, let’s not forget this adorable fluff piece.

I think 2008 Worlds had some of my favourite podiums of all time. Maybe another fit of nostalgia will make me watch some more videos from that competition. Which competitions had some of your favourite podiums? I’d love to hear them!

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

