The Future?: Elizaveta Tuktamysheva

I know I’m supposed to admire the very talented Adelina Sotnikova, who won the junior World Championships this year but I can’t help but like the silver medalist, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva, a lot better. Liza has finished second in all her competitions with Adelina this year but I see great potential in this girl. She just has star quality that you can’t buy and you can’t tear your eyes from her once she starts performing.

I don’t like the random and constant arm waving in her long program this year but I love the fierce tano-arm double axel. And the general fierceness throughout the routine.

I wish her choreographer came up with something better than this. I kind of like this piece of music for this program she did a few years ago.

All in all, I think Elizaveta needs a new choreographer. I’d love to see her flourish under Tatiana Tarasova but I don’t think she’s coaching until she can deal with her mother who just passed away last year. It would also be nice to see her do something David Wilson did. I’d love to see that. She has the same kind of drama that Yuna Kim has, if not more. However, I do have to admit that some of her success comes from the fact that she’s with Papa Mishin. I don’t know how easy it would be to dump Papa Mishin as your coach as a starlet waiting for a successful career.

In any case, I think for this season, Liza was packaged pretty decently. Her choreography was meant to show that she was a mature skater despite her baby face. I wonder how she’ll progress next season when she and Adelina qualify for the senior circuit…

Do you prefer Adelina or Liza? Why? I’d love to hear your opinions!

~The Rinkside Cafe

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mandy
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 03:09:30

    Hi,is nice that u like Liza. I’m a huge fan of her sense she make her skating career in russian nats in 2007.
    One thing: Tarasova make Adelina choreos as u might know and if u didn’t well know you do, Tarasova doesn’t want to coach anymore and she only does choreos especially for Moscow pupils like Adelina and in other season Artem Borodulin. And sense Liza is a Mishin pupil in St. Petersburg, Tarasova doing choreos for her is out or the question. David Wilson is far away from Russia and Mishin only works with russian or european choreographers so that is out of the question too.
    Liza will never leave Mishin cos she worked a lot to be in mishin pupils, Mishin only accept her after 1 year of liza improving in her jumps. Adelina has some level 4 spins but Liza choreos improved a lot for worlds in PCS scores she was really close to Adelina

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 11:40:58

      She seems as if she’s stuck in a rut. She’s not quite at the critical point where she needs to leave her coach immediately but I do hope that a coaching change will be put in order for the future when she realizes Mishin’s limits.

      Reply

  2. Casey
    May 07, 2011 @ 23:35:41

    At the moment Adelina appears to be slightly more developed artistically; however, I tend to lean toward Liza in the long run. Adelina shows some signs of potential issues with the technique on some of her jumps; her triple lutz-triple loop may be clean now but I have a feeling she’ll have a hard time keeping it that way as she matures. She appears to me to have a brute-force approach to that element as well as some of her other jumps. Even in her air positions, her hips are a little open. Not to nitpick; she’s a terrific skater, but I am concerned that she may have technique troubles later in her career. And while I do agree that Liza definitely could use some nurturing in her spins and choreography, she does have a sense of presentation and that “star quality” that you can’t put a price on. But I think what really stands out about Liza is her speed across the ice and impressive jump technique which will serve her well as she makes her way into the senior ranks.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 이 소녀야말로 진정한 제2의 김연아 – 엘리자베타 툭타미셰바 | jehenisus

Leave a Reply

