Further Proof that PCS = Patrick Chan Score

I knew that Patrick Chan was going to take a nauseating lead at Canadian Nationals but being the optimist that I am, I thought that his triple axel implosions would limit his ridiculous scores. I am ridiculously wrong, unfortunately. Patrick Chan can double a triple axel and still get a score only 3 points away from the world record short program score. Disgusting.

PJ Kwong states in her commentary: “He sets the bar for footwork for this generation of men’s skaters.” I’ve never been afraid of calling her delusional before and I stand by my word that this opinion is part of her nationalistic delusion. Patrick Chan’s footwork is good but it’s not that good. His footwork especially in this program seems to have no connection to the music and neither does he. It sickens me that this short program (88.78) score would beat Daisuke Takahashi’s masterpiece of a performance and program at 2008 Four Continents (88.57) by a hair. I know that scores at national competitions are always inflated but with Chan, you never know how much his scores will be inflated. In any case, whatever PCS Chan may be getting, I will stand by my opinion in the face of nationalistic Canadian figure skating fans and tell them: “THIS is good interpretation, choreography and footwork.” Chan just doesn’t compare with this performance, quad or no quad:

The expression! The musicality! His relation to the audience! Sheer perfection.

Not everyone can perform like Daisuke but Shawn Sawyer was pretty good in that respect at Canadian Nationals. This was a solid performance and his triple axel was better than Chan’s attempt at one.

Without Tessa and Scott to make Canadian Nationals worth watching, I’ll place my hopes on U.S. Nationals, which will definitely be more exciting, regardless of my nationality and the ire incurred from me saying this: the Americans have a better National figure skating competition than the Canadians, hands down. If you have an issue with my lack of nationalism, read Benedict Anderson’s “Imagined Communities”. It’s a brilliant book.

Wishing for Tessa and Scott…

~The Rinkside Cafe

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jecava
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 01:29:44

    Haha thumbs up just for the Benedict Anderson reference. Memories of intro to communications class…

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 11:37:55

    Just truthtelling in this post. Every time I hear about Patrick Chan’s amazing choreo and footwork, I have to go back and suffer through another video just to make sure I’m not missing something. Is his edge work good? Absolutely, and I’ll give that to him over Daisuke. Spins as well. But that’s about it. He’s got such low affect during his performances, there’s no connection with the music, the choreography barely exists. I just don’t understand how he’s ever outscoring Daisuke on footwork, choreo, and interpretation.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:10:49

    Sorry for double posting but I just now got up the energy to watch Chan’s program. There’s a story now?? Why do we have to hear about the choreo’s purpose from his choreographer by way of the commentator? Why can’t I figure the story out from watching?

    And now, that is not one of the most creative programs we’ve seen in a long time. Just thinking back to last year, I’ll take Daisuke’s short program from last year or even this year’s Oda program.

    Reply

  4. Mr. Drummond
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 19:24:49

    I like Chan, but he definitely lacks Takahashi’s panache and out-and-out star quality.

    Reply

  5. unidebt
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 19:46:52

    soooo true!
    It’s not really fair now. I just watched the GPF, and Chan beat takahashi in the FS, I knew he could still win, after the fall several iffy landings… but not like that. I put his score at 168 max in the freeskate, even taking into consideration that they really mark him high.
    I really like chan. But they LOOVE him up a bit too obviously.

    Reply

  6. TeraByte
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 14:00:37

    I thought Takahashi was robbed: the commentator described him as “on fire” and he appeared indignant that Chan won. Chan made a number of clumsy mistakes, and Takahashi made only one. Was Chan’s program so much more difficult? I’d really want to see the grading. It makes no sense.

    Do foreign skaters dread coming to Canada because they know the judges are prejudiced against them?

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Dec 11, 2011 @ 21:50:55

      The sad thing is that this is going to continue for the next few years. One of my friends commented that even if he’s injured, he’d still win because it’s not like the judges don’t tolerate his falls and mistakes. I really want to know what he has to do to get a shitty score.

      Reply

  7. TeraByte
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 23:27:33

    But it calls the whole process into question and reflects badly on social values. For a skater who’s trained rigorously only to find that they reward the person rather than evaluating the performance it’s disgusting.

    One station I watched dropped Takahashi’s program entirely and skipped from the American skater to Chan, as if to make Chan look better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

