Junior Grand Prix Final: I am in awe

I had a tad of free time so I decided to take a look at the winners for the ladies discipline in the JGPF because I’ve heard a lot about these two up and coming stars: Adelina Sotnikova and Elizaveta Tuktamisheva.

Adelina is what I’d expect to see if you combine Yuna and Mao together. She has great posture and decent lines. Her jumps flow and they’re huge! I’d like to see her make eye contact with the audience, she doesn’t quite have that connection yet but that just takes time.

Elizaveta is drama on ice. She’s a fierce bitch and she knows it.This girl has some of the best jump technique I’ve ever seen, even from the men! She barely needs to raise her leg to pick into the ice for her toe jumps and she rotates so fast in the air! She just needs to work on her flow out of the jumps and they’ll be absolute perfection.

If these two survive their growth spurts, I expect them to reach for the top of  the podium at the Olympics in 4 years.

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jecava
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 02:10:45

    I’ve been waiting to see these two head to head in a major international event and they didn’t disappoint. So far I much prefer Sotnikova’s style to Tuktamisheva’s. Sotnikova is far more graceful and will hopefully develop that connection with the audience just as Mao and Yuna did. As for Tuktamisheva, there is no doubt her jumps are good but I can already see that Mishin “choreography” (i.e. excessive dramatic arm/hand movements with no apparent relation to the the music) is gonna get on my nerves. I look forward to seeing more of them in the future. Here’s hoping the puberty monster doesn’t attack them too harshly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

