Favourite Programs of the Season thus Far…

There are no Grand Prix events this week as the final is next week, meaning I have a bit of a breather to concentrate on the other aspects of life. However, I wanted to bring a few highlights of this season so far. There have been some amazing programs, some not-so-amazing programs and some in between and I think that rather than being all cynical and depressed all the time, we should look at some of the nice things in life. Like the great programs this season. Or at least what I think are great programs. Feel free to put up some suggestions, great figure skating programs are always appreciated!

Men

Best SP – Nobunari Oda (Storm)

Best LP – Takahiko Kozuka (Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1)

Ladies

Best SP – Kanako Murakami (Jumping Jack)

Best LP – Akiko Suzuki (Fiddler on the Roof)

Pairs

Best SP – Wenjing Sui & Cong Han (Country Dance – I don’t particularly adore this SP but I’m not a  fan of a lot of the pairs programs this season and they’re cute enough to get away with the atrocity that is a cowboy program.)

Best LP – Yuko Kavaguti & Alexander Smirnov (Clair de Lune – I’m not a fan of this team but I admit that this is lovely choreography.)

Ice Dance

Best SD -Kaitlyn Weaver & Andrew Poje (At Last)

Best FD – The Shibushibus (Smile, Let’s Face the Music and Dance)

Thoughts? Opinions?

~The Rinkside Cafe

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jecava
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 23:10:26

    Nice picks! I was wowed by Kozuka’s TEB free skate, I think it’s the best performance so far this season. I agree about K/S, not a fan of theirs but that program could be very beautiful if it were skated by a pair with, you know, grace and power 😉 And the Shibus are adorable! I like them a lot more than I expected to. Cool blog by the way, just found it a few days ago

    Reply

Leave a Reply

