Dear Mao and Yuna…

Dear Mao and Yuna,

How have you guys been doing? I hope that both of you are in the best of health and that training has been going well. I’m writing this letter because I’m very very concerned about the state of ladies figure skating at the moment. You see, Kiira Korpi won the Trophée Eric Bompard last weekend. Oh yes, I forgot, you were there, Mao-chan. I’m very concerned about this because, well… it’s just plain sad. Without you in top form, Mao-chan, we have a not so spectacular skater winning a Grand Prix event. However, that’s just the tip of the iceberg. I suspect that Miki Ando may win the final and as much as I’m endeared to Miki’s spunky personality, her choreography is just atrocious although I admit that she’s improved presentation-wise since she won the World title in 2007. What bothers me even more is that at the moment, the ladies competition is not exciting anymore now that you two are gone in your own ways. As a result, boring Rachael Flatt could find herself on the World podium with her boring consistency at this point! (Please save us from that!) Kanako Murakami seems to be the only beacon of light in this discipline this season but it’s unlikely that she’ll win anything big, not to mention she has a lot of maturing to do.

In any case, I hope that you get your consistency back, Mao. You’re much to good to be beaten by the likes of Cynthia Phaneuf and Rachael Flatt. As for you Yuna, please turn out your foot and point your toes so you don’t massacre the spirals and layback spins in your programs; they happen to be my favourite element and spin. As for the rest of your elements, I’m sure that you’ll be fine in competition anyways.

Anyways, I’m wishing you the best of luck and I’m sending tons of love so that there will be more exciting ladies competitions in the future.

Sincerely,

The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

