Cup of Russia: What happens when you make a creepy doll do pretty choreo?

Ahhh… finally. Just a spot of free time and I’ve earned it. Anyways, I don’t know how much time to blog on the Cup of Russia since TEB is already snapping at my heels. I think any posts on CoR will be limited to a few comments that I’m really compelled to say. In any case, let’s begin!

So last week, Aunt Joyce complained about the state of pairs skating today after watching Skate America. Admittedly, after my figure skating revival in 2008 thanks to Tessa and Scott, I really didn’t care for pairs. In fact, whenever I watched figure skating, I never watched the pairs competition. The Mao/Yuna rivalry was compelling in the ladies discipline and there were a lot of good men in the men’s competition. For pairs, I might’ve taken a look at Savchenko/Szolkowy because of a friend’s recommendation but other than that, pairs was oddly enough, the most boring discipline. The only reason why I’m excited for pairs skating now is because of my baby Chinese pair (Sui & Han) and the baby Russians (Iliushchekina & Maisuradze) who I adopted after stomping on PJ Kwong’s deluded fantasy of a Canuck sweep at Skate Canada. (Although I have to thank Cynthia Phaneuf for her inconsistency too…) I like seeing their growth and I’m looking forward to their future. In any case, if you thought the pairs competition at Skate America was bad, I’d have to say that the pairs competition at the Cup of Russia was ten times as painful to watch.

Anyways, because of my lack of pairs skating knowledge, I didn’t really understand why people were gushing over Tamara Moscovina. Then again, the only team that I know she coaches is Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smirnov… ‘Nuff said.

I really like the choreography to “Clair de Lune” but I can’t really get over how Yuko skates around like a crazy psychopath doll. No, seriously. Her limbs flail around like a rag doll and all her expressions like slightly maniacal. As in, I am going to kill you maniacal. I mean, I admire her determination with that moment where she snapped back her dislocated shoulder mid-program and won either the competition or at least a medal but… that creepy glass-eyed stare. *shudders* I’m not sure how that look fits in with the softness of “Clair de Lune”. I mean, just look:

*Voodoo*

‘Nuff said.

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

