Cup of China Predictions

Yay! A competition where there aren’t very many Canadian competitors so I don’t think about Chan and the highway robbery that ensued last week. In any case, I’m actually quite excited for the competition this weekend! Tomas Verner beckons you to read…

Men

Brian Joubert seems to be the frontrunner for this competition if his positive attitude and supposedly improved skating skills actually exist. As Chan’s old nemesis, I hope he does well. Takahiko Kozuka may be nipping at his heels if Joubert implodes. I’m looking forward to seeing how he’s improved. The kid has wonderful skating skills, he just needs to project his presence a little more during his programs. My darling crush, Tomas Verner has changed coaches, got a sports psychologist and has a new outlook for this year. Tomas has the talent and I hope that he can recover from his horrible Olympic season.

Ladies

The ladies competition will be way more exciting than last week. For one, there are a few exciting entries. If Miki Ando has truly recovered from her inconsistency as she did last season, she should be able to take the competition handily. Akiko Suzuki will be back and although I don’t think she will ever get on the Worlds podium, her story (recovery from anorexia) makes her super endearing and I hope that she will do well during the Grand Prix series like last year. Mini Yuna (aka Min-Jeong Kwak) will be there with her decent jumps and Yuna-esque lack of toe pointing but Mirai Nagasu might keep her off the podium. Mirai has established herself as a contender for Sochi through her 4th place finish at the Olympics and a 1st place SP at Worlds last year. Hopefully Frank Carroll can drill her so that she no longer underrotates her jumps and therefore, beat the incredibly… boring Rachel Flatt.

Pairs

Pang and Tong should sweep the competition again but this time, there are actually a few other interesting competitors. The race for silver may be the most exciting part of the pairs competition. The baby Russians aka Iliushechkina and Maisuradze will be appearing after their victory at Skate Canada last week. They will be facing tough competition by the names of Sui Wenjing and Han Cong, last year’s junior world champions (I&M were 4th) who did a successful throw quad salchow at their junior grand prix assignment in Germany. I love these two, I’ve adopted them as my little Chinese babies. I’m so excited to see how Sui and Han do in the senior ranks and I hope for a meteoric rise for these two. They’re so wonderfully adorable! *pinches their cheeks*

Ice Dance

The ice dance will be a European race for gold. The Italians, Federica Faiella and Massimo Scali will be fending off the now #1 French team, Natalie Pechalat and Fabian Bourzat. The Italians may have a slight edge over Pechalat/Bourzat in terms of skating skills as well a bronze Worlds medal, hence the prediction. The bronze may be a free for all, so I hope that a lovely young team will impress me somehow but at the moment, I’m feeling a bit pessimistic.

Predictions:

Men: Brian Joubert
Ladies: Miki Ando
Pairs: Pang & Tong
Ice Dance: Faiella & Scali

I hope that this weekend will be a lot more delightful than that hot mess last weekend.

~The Rinkside Cafe

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ay-sa
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 00:09:13

    You know how fond I am of Tomas, but doesn’t he have a “new outlook” every year? 😦

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Nov 05, 2010 @ 00:11:02

      I think this time he actually means it seeing that he’s left Michael Huth. I can only pray. Besides, I’m kind of excited for his “Singing in the Rain” SP.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

