NHK Trophy – What is this madness called the ladies LP?

I woke up this morning, not know what to expect with the results of the NHK trophy. In the back of my mind, I was hoping for a Mao comeback but I had a feeling it wasn’t going to happen. Instead, this happens:

Carolina Kostner wins gold. (!)

I’m superbly happy for Carolina. I’ve been a fan thanks to her Canon in D SP and her LP from 2005 but in all honesty, I’m surprised that the one competitor who’s totally prone to meltdowns actually pulls herself together and win it. My faith has been slightly restored but I fear that if I start liking her too much again, she’ll break my heart by spazzing again. Sigh. In any case, she did make a couple of mistakes in her LP and I wished that she could’ve related to the music a bit more but I think that’ll come when she’s skated it a few more times in competition. I look forward to seeing a polished version of this LP. If she can keep her head level and land her jumps. Also, I may be mad but I don’t think I saw a flip or a lutz in that LP. I miss her explosive triple-triples. Come on Caro, you can do better than this.

Rachel Flatt won the free skate and the silver medal, which upsets me. I think I’m not the only one who wishes she would quit and just go study in the library or something. Most of us have very little spare time and I would rather not sacrifice any by watching her. Admittedly, she is handy for when you need a food or washroom break.

Kanako fell on her flips and loop, which was upsetting. I was really hoping she’d get the silver but at least she started out strong on her senior debut. As for her sempai, Mao… well… hmmm… let’s hope she does A LOT better next time.

Come again!

~The Rinkside Cafe

Leave a Reply

