Boggles the mind: Morozov Choreography

How is it that the man who choreographed this masterpiece:

 

And this piece of perfection:

 

can choreograph a monstrosity like this?

 

And then try to make up for his mistake by creating this instead?

 

No seriously, WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS FUCKERY??? Sure it’s a lot better than the fuckery that was that weird tiger-thing program but the music makes no sense whatsoever. It goes from elevator music so samba to calm quiet piano piece to pastoral music to more Latin music to WTF MOROZOV ARE YOU TRYING TO MAKE MY BRAIN EXPLODE WITH NONSENSICAL MUSIC CUTS!?!?!????? And who are those French commentators kidding when they say, “C’est magnifique ├ža.” No, it’s not magnifique, it’s just FUCKED UP, that’s what it is. They’re clapping because Florent cued them to do it. Oh Florent, so young, so talented. All going to waste. You may have won bronze at Euros this year but unless you leave the Russian Gino, I’m giving up on you and your figure skating future forever.

What do you think of Florent’s new LP?

~The Rinkside Cafe

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Q
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 10:50:29

    I….have no words. Maybe the choreographer had a head trauma?

    Reply

  2. unidebt
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 13:12:53

    Haha- Yeah
    It may be that Morozov is over booked and over worked. There are times when it seems like he coaches and or choreographs everyone. But it’s true sometimes he can create something amazing and then something shoddy, Javier Fernandez 2011 Nu Pogodi SP which seemed rushed and not really thought through, bright colours strange theme not really suiting his character in comparison to his Pirates of the Caribbean programme which was heaps better.
    Florents short programme 2010 (papa can you hear me) was great. So its just a when he feels like it. I guess if the skater inspires him too, because all his programmes for Daisuke were pretty good to amazing.
    I went to the ECs and Florents programme was more so appreciated than others, I mean Plushenkos “choreography” insults me as a human being. He must do it himself. Wikipedia states its David Avdish, whoever he is, he obviously is rhythmically challenged.

    Reply

  3. andanta
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 20:02:49

    It is said men have periods too…

    Reply

  4. pom
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 10:30:36

    My guess is that he needed Shae-Lynn for great choreography.

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Mar 14, 2012 @ 12:03:47

      I don’t know if Florent has the attention to detail needed for Shae-Lynn choreography (I blame this on Morozov’s lame coaching and years of shit programs rather than Florent’s talent) but I think he and David Wilson would make a remarkable pair.

      Reply

  5. life choreographer
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 16:57:08

    I guess programs are a matter of choice. I liked both of the programs. Music was interesting, not an average Joe music. Choreography is an art, and it may not always be apparent to everybody, what choreographer wanted to express. Morozov definitely feels his skater and the music, and just knows how to bring the best out of his athlete. Like it or not, you will remember these programs. When Mozart was composing his music people of that time were not ‘getting it’, it didn’t stop Mozart from becoming the World’s best composer. You may like his music, you may not, but it is undeniable, that Mozart was a genius. To degrade someone doesn’t take much. However, once you go through the choreographing process yourself, and you create a program for someone, live in the shoes (in the head) of the choreographer, you will know what this process entitles to. Kudos to all creative minds out there, whether I understand your art, or not.

    Reply

    • rinksidecafe
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 18:08:00

      Fair point, and I agree that this comes down to a question of taste in style and in that, I would disagree with your taste. As for whether or not I remember these programs, well, I would say that “memorable” like “interesting” are double-edged adjectives.

      For Mozart, I do enjoy his music but I would contest the definition of genius on post-modern grounds. (Also, I would disagree with you on the title of world’s best composer since I feel that this title conferred on a very subjective basis.) Mozart needs to thank the ranks of academics and people of the upper echelons of society for enshrining him in the world of high culture and art. In reality, I believe that people need to realize that all art has value whether it is Mozart of Kanye West. The only difference are the associations and values attributed to each artist. Sure, Mozart may have composed music that is complex and beautiful in its own right but I think there’s also value in how rap or hip hop has resonated with youth and to people of the working class. I may prefer Mozart over Kanye but I don’t think one is necessarily better than the other, my level of preference is what differs.

      Consequently, my “degrad[ation]” of Morozov’s choreography stems mostly from my own personal opinions which you can disagree with. However, I will point out that Morozov is infamous for recycling his programs. Furthermore, I would also disagree with him bringing out the best of his skaters all of the time, because if he did, Javier would not have been stuck with that weird colour-trippy SP during the Olympic season which looked terribly awkward and Elena & Nikita would be skating to something with more emotional depth comparable to their Schindler’s List FD.

      I’m glad to hear your opinion though. I love discussing these things with other people.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

